Build A Line Challenge from B’Sue Boutiques, Amy Jorgensen – Ameme Designs at Hoarder’s Corner, Part 2

6a00d8348f44da53ef01bb07c05e1b970d-800wiWelcome to Blog Hop Number 2! This is the second of three blog hops for the B’Sue Boutiques Build A Line challenge, hosted and taught (for free!) by the fabulous, knowledgeable and very generous Brenda Sue of B’Sue Boutiques.

 

In Blog Hop Number 1, I introduced myself and my Etsy shop, Ameme Designs, and I showed the evolution of my design skills since I began making jewelry.  I also gave a quick view of my ideas for my line, and the components I was considering.

build a line components

 

 

Fast-forward to Blog Hop Number 2, and my line is shaping up in my mind if not actually on the work table.  I’ve dropped the ribbon, added in rhinestone chain around the cabochons and I’ve started giving serious thought to chain – a necklace has to hang from something, after all.

DSCN1913

 

The move away from using ribbon in my line changed the aesthetic slightly, and as I experimented with adding the rhinestone chain, the name of my line came to me – “Simply Luxe” – the designs are simple, but they look quite rich due to the custom-finish brass cameo stampings with turquoise and gold cabochons, the rhinestone adds the bling they need.
DSCN1916

In addition, I’ve been joining into conversations with my classmates, and reading and watching videos that cover all aspects of fashion and jewelry design and marketing. I’ve learned so much.  One of the things I’ve learned?  That I need to learn so much more! But now, thanks to this class and challenge, I know what I need to learn more about.

While I had hoped to have one piece to show you today, real life had other plans for me this week.  So you’ll need to pop back next month for the final reveal – Blog Hop Number 3!

DSCN1925 (800x558)

I hope you enjoyed my second blog hop article, I hope you have a little time to “hop” around this list of blogs below, and give them a like or a comment.


 

Brenda Sue Lansdowne, B’sue Boutiques Jewelry Making Outside the Box
Marcia Tuzzolino Aurora Designs
Jann Tague Clever Designs by Jann
Judy King Apt to Wander Studio
Linzi Alford Magpie in the Sky, Spoil Heap Tales
Cynthia Wainscott Exotic Peru
Carole Carlson Beadsophisticate
Lynn Stinten Dragonzwench
Marica Zammit Bead Lovelies
Catherine Shattuck VRBrose
Michaele Collie The Vintage Gem
Mary Craig Jewelry Alchemy
Lee Koopman Strega Jewelry
Erin Whitacre Shattered Time Jewelry
Monica Casady MJCasady Copper Works
Leila West Leila Nicole Designs
Cindy Peterson Howling Dog Jewelry
Leila Belcher Leila Bee Designs
Gloria Allen Wings and Beads
Pamela Anger Novegatti Designs
Tammy Adams Paisley Lizard
Lynda O’Mara LOmara Creative
Elizabeth Hildreth MadScientistsDesigns
Dana Hickey Wind Dancer Studios
Janet Calardo Jan Lea Designs
Maria Clark Sweet Willow Designs
Lori Beekman B. Accessorized
Jennifer Kroeger Relic Charm
Amy Jorgensen Hoarder’s Corner — You are here
Robin Reed Artistry: Handcrafted Bead Designs
Ingrid Anderson Lilis Gems
Louise O’Shields Desire Divine Jewels
Susan Killam Killam Creative
Mary Katherine Deis The Rose Sword: Artisan and Vintage Collectible Jewelry
Nike Bottalico Nike Bottalico
Susan Bowerman Woodside Wireworks
Kristy Le Kristy Le Trendy Jewelry Designs
Jan Peters Stylized Vintage
Mitzie Crider Needful Luxuries Occasional Blog
Gina Hockett Freestyle Elements
Linda Anderson From the Bead Board
Alexandra Sefton Imaginary Jewelry and Altered Art
Melida Boman The Journey of Pens and Things
Teresa Shurter TreeZ’s Treasurs
Melissa Latimer Smithed Up
Renee Hong Fine and Dandy Jewelry and Art
Nadine Edris Moondance Jewelry
Lori Meyer Parisienne Girl
Jennifer Merrill Williams Artists of All Stripes
Denise Lussier Poirier Jewelry by Denise
Renee Allen Small Stuff Design
Autumn Adams Autumn Dawns
Elizabeth Owens 1996 Shabby Lane
Kat BarronMiller Midnight Kat Productions Art Jewelry
Sandra Ballard Mama San’s Mojo
Coral Law ab:coraldesign
35 thoughts on “Build A Line Challenge from B’Sue Boutiques, Amy Jorgensen – Ameme Designs at Hoarder’s Corner, Part 2

  1. My daughter gave me a beautiful pendant that the jewelry designer hung from ribbon. The first thing I did was find a necklace to hang it on. I chose a short beaded necklace (almost a choker). So, I think that moving away from ribbon to the rhinestones and chain necklaces is a good idea. I like what I see in the photos. Looking forward to the next post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The gold pieces are lovely but the black is really dynamic! I liked the ribbons when you were getting feedback on that! But your line is really pretty with the chains and rhinestone cup chain and all. Are the cabs polymer or resin? Great job and I’m excited to see your complete line. :):)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Seeing how you’ve tweaked your concept is fun. I think sometimes the chain is somewhat of an afterthought in lots of jewelry so by taking a thoughtful approach to how to manage the chain will enhance your overall look. Looking forward to the final reveal.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Amy, I think that lots of people like to look at the ribbon, but not necessarily buy or wear it because they are afraid it will be hard to clean. You can’t go wrong with chain! ~Renee H.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Loving the colors of your focals. I think the decision to remove the ribbon will ultimately make your designs more durable. I love the look of fiber jewelry, but it doesn’t hold up to regular or longer term wear the way metals and other components will.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m liking the rhinestone chain, though I’ve never used it before, I find myself being drawn to it. Your post has helped me decide to add that to my list of “things I need” It makes a definite positive change to your designs.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Looking good Amy! 🙂

    Probably my biggest problem is the neckline treatment. It takes me too long to decide on the best chain, etc to use I think.

    Really looking forward to seeing how you’ll be finishing these beauties.

    Liked by 1 person

So what do you think?!

